

## 2023 IPTA Award Recipients

IPTA Members Received Awards at the 59th Annual IPTA Transportation Conference and Trade Show.



Tom Horn "Memorial" Award Recipient: <u>Troy Griffith</u>, Perry Community School District. Pictured with Max Christensen, DE



Holly Hoglund Klein, Iowa Woman in Transportation Award Recipient: <u>Norma Castillo</u> - Sergeant Bluff-Luton CSD. Pictured with Tony Bos, Trans. Director, Sergeant Bluff-Luton CSD and Marc Steel, Hoglund Bus Company.



Longevity Award Recipients: Pictured (Lt) <u>Debbie Scott</u>, Algona CSD (23 Years) Pictured (Middle) <u>Roy Scott</u>, Twin Rivers CSD (27 Years) (Pictured Rt) <u>Keven Hoover</u>, Algona CSD (35 Years) (Not Pictured) <u>Linda Merkle</u>, Algona CSD (37 Years) - She could not attend.



(Pictured Lt-Rt) Barb Schwamann, Julie Nemmers, Blake Newton, Aaron Boge, Max Christensen. Jack Hanke (Not pictured)

This year we had two **IPTA Heroism Awards** that were presented by Barb Schwamann, Superintendent Osage CSD to **Aaron Boge**, Osage school bus driver, and 9th grade student, **Jack Hanke** for saving the life of a student. Osage shared the video and it can be viewed at:

## https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfyoAH5QeBk

Jack could see that Blake Newton was experiencing breathing problems so he notified the driver and went and sat with him. The diver radioed the school office and returned Blake immediately home and he was then transported to the hospital. Thanks to both of these two individuals, Blake was brought back to health and joined his driver, Aaron Boge in Des Moines for the IPTA award ceremony. Unfortunately Jack Hanke could not attend. Everyone thanks them for the decision they made and for their quick response. Jack and Aaron made all the difference in in the world and saved Blake's life.

## IPTA 59th Annual Conference July 18th Review

**IPTA** 

**Day two** of the Iowa Pupil Transportation Association Conference began with the morning member breakfast and the Department of Education's Hall of Fame with <u>Max Christensen</u> including two of our State of Iowa school bus inspectors, <u>Verlan Vos</u>, and <u>Tom Simpson</u>.

Next up we held the 2023 Annual Iowa Pupil Transportation Association Membership Board Meeting. This annual meeting is held each year on the 2nd day of the conference.







During the annual meeting we had to say goodbye to two of our board members Robin Pickard, West Des Moines CSD (Pictured Lt) and our past board president, Julie Nemmers. (Rt) IPTA President for seven years.



Changes in our IPTA Board of Directors are natural transitions. We wish Robin and Julie, our former IPTA board member and good friends, the best in whatever they choose to do in the future. "Thank you" for everything that you both have done during your many years on the board of the Iowa Pupil Transportation Association, and for your continued support to your communities.

We then welcomed two new board members, Codie Kellen, LeMars CSD (Pictured Lt), and Mark Branch (Rt) We are looking forward to working with them at our first meeting on October 18, 2023.



In other business during the Board Reorganization Meeting the board voted to retain IPTA president,



Carlos Guerra, Transportation Director at the Norwalk CSD. (Pictured Lt) This will be his 2nd term as President for the IPTA. The IPTA Board also retained, Vice President, Merrill Mueller Jr., Transportation Director at the Algona CSD. (RT) Carlos and Merrill both assumed their roles during the IPTA board reorganizational meeting that was also held on July 18, 2023, during the IPTA Annual Conference.

Next up was Iowa's Largest Tradeshow with 48 booths and five school buses on display in the Holiday Inn Iowa Hall. The 223 attendees had a great tour though the amazing vendor displays. Everyone had time to talk with former and new companies and Vendors had a chance to meet with established customers and possibly attract a few new ones during this outstanding IPTA conference event. Thank you to all of our sustaining member companies and vendors.

